Levels Of Care


Routine Home Care

 This is the most common level of hospice care. Routine home care includes, but is not limited to, nursing and home health aide services. Patients may receive Routine Hospice Care in their home or what they “call home”—in a long-term care or assisted living facility.

Continuous Home Care 

Continuous Home Care is provided during periods of crisis in which a patient requires continuous nursing care to achieve palliation or management of acute medical symptoms. This intensive care is provided in the patient’s home or facility where they live. In addition to being visited by the team members, the patient will receive up to 24 hours a day care by a licensed nurse and hospice aide, when on Continuous Home Care.

General Inpatient Care 

General Inpatient Care is care for pain control and symptom management that cannot effectively be provided in other settings. It is usually of a short-term nature and can be provided in a hospital, hospice unit or long-term care facility. Moments  Hospice has dedicated inpatient hospice units.

Respite Care

Respite Care is short-term inpatient care provided to the patient when necessary for the purpose of providing a break in caregiving to the patient’s caregiver(s). It is only provided on an occasional basis, for a maximum of five days approximately every 90 days. Respite Care is provided in a hospital, hospice unit or long-term care facility.